Saw Palmetto Dosage for Prostate: How Much to Take (and How Much Is Too Much)
Affiliate disclosure: some links on this site are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. That never changes what the research says, and we publish negative findings about products we link to. This article is informational and is not medical advice.
The saw palmetto dose for prostate symptoms is 320 mg a day of a standardized extract (lipidosterolic, 85 to 95 percent fatty acids), once daily or as 160 mg twice daily. It is the dose clinical trials used.2 Look for 320 mg on the label. At that dose, the STEP trial found no benefit over placebo.1
Every major clinical trial of saw palmetto for an enlarged prostate used 320 mg per day of a lipidosterolic extract of Serenoa repens berries, given either as a single 320 mg dose or as 160 mg twice daily. That number comes from the standardized fat soluble extract used in research, not from ground berry powder and not from a dropper of tincture. If a label does not tell you how many milligrams of extract you are getting, you cannot compare it to the research at all.
The uncomfortable second half of the answer: at that exact dose, the two largest independent trials in the United States found no benefit over placebo. So 320 mg is a benchmark for judging a product, and the largest trials did not show that dose eases urinary symptoms. Below we walk through what the studies found, why extract and powder are not the same thing, and how to read a label in about a minute.
Key takeaways
- The research dose is 320 mg per day of a lipidosterolic extract, standardized to roughly 85 to 95 percent fatty acids and sterols.
- The STEP trial (2006) and the CAMUS trial (2011) both used that dose or higher and found no advantage over placebo.
- The highest dose tested in a large trial is 960 mg a day (CAMUS, 72 weeks), with adverse events no more common than on placebo. There is no trial safety data above that.
- The latest Cochrane review (2023) covering 4,656 men concluded saw palmetto alone provides little to no benefit, with high certainty evidence.
- In a 2023 lab analysis of 28 commercial products, total fatty acid content ranged from 0.8 percent to 89.9 percent. No berry powder or powdered extract met the US Pharmacopeia benchmark.
- Federal labeling rules allow a "Proprietary Blend" to hide the individual dose of each ingredient. That is legal and it is common.
How much saw palmetto should I take? Where the 320 mg number comes from
Saw palmetto is the berry of a low growing palm native to the southeastern United States. The part researchers care about is not the whole berry but its oily fraction: free fatty acids, their glycerides, and plant sterols such as beta sitosterol. Manufacturers use solvents like hexane, ethanol or supercritical carbon dioxide to pull that oil out and concentrate it. The result is called a lipidosterolic extract, and the United States Pharmacopeia standard for it requires a minimum of 80 percent total fatty acids.
European trials in the 1980s and 1990s settled on 320 mg per day of that extract, and every serious trial since has followed. The European Medicines Agency monograph on saw palmetto fruit lists the same adult dose: 320 mg once daily or 160 mg two times daily.9 So when you see "saw palmetto 320 mg" on a bottle, the number is only meaningful if it refers to the concentrated extract. If it refers to milled dried berries, you are getting a fraction of what the studies delivered.
How much saw palmetto is too much?
There is no official maximum dose, and the highest dose tested in a large trial was 960 mg a day of extract, three times the standard 320 mg. In the CAMUS trial (JAMA, 2011), men took it for 72 weeks, and side effects were no more common than on placebo. Doses above that have not been studied.2,10
Neither NCCIH nor the European Medicines Agency lists a maximum daily dose for saw palmetto, so the trial data is the best guide.
In the CAMUS trial, 369 men aged 45 and older took either saw palmetto extract or a placebo for 72 weeks. The extract group started at 320 mg a day, went to 640 mg at week 24 and to 960 mg at week 48. After each increase, the researchers checked blood counts, blood chemistry, clotting tests, heart tracings and urine. They reported "no significant differences between groups in the rates of occurrence of any adverse events," and wrote that the extract "appeared to have no attributable side effects, even up to triple doses."2 A separate safety analysis of the same trial, published in the Journal of Urology in 2013, found no significant differences in lab test abnormalities, no sign that problems rose with the dose, and "no evidence of toxicity at doses up to 3 times the usual clinical dose."10
Here is what that means for the doses people ask about:
- 500 mg or 900 mg a day of extract falls between doses CAMUS tested, where side effects were no more common than on placebo.
- 1,000 mg a day or more is above the 960 mg ceiling of that trial. There is no trial data on safety at that level, so nobody can tell you it is safe or unsafe.
- More is not better for symptoms. The same trial found that raising the dose did not reduce urinary symptoms more than placebo. The trial dose of 320 mg a day is the one to match.
Two other official sources fill in the picture. NCCIH says saw palmetto "has been used safely in research studies for up to 3 years," with mild and infrequent side effects such as digestive symptoms, dizziness and headache.4 The European Medicines Agency monograph notes "a few cases of suspected interactions with warfarin" with increased INR values, so if you take warfarin, talk with your doctor before you start.9
The NIH LiverTox database adds that trials found little or no evidence of liver injury, but saw palmetto has been implicated in rare case reports of liver injury, its role in them remains uncertain, and those cases resolved after the herb was stopped.11
Also check what the milligrams on your label refer to. A capsule with 1,000 mg of ground berry powder is not the same as 1,000 mg of extract, as the next sections show.
What the research actually found, including the trials that failed
This is where most articles in this niche stop being useful. The honest picture is mixed at best, and the largest and most rigorous trials are the negative ones.
The STEP trial (2006)
Published in the New England Journal of Medicine, the STEP trial randomized 225 men over the age of 49 with moderate to severe symptoms of benign prostatic hyperplasia to either 160 mg of saw palmetto extract twice daily (320 mg per day) or placebo for one year. There was no significant difference between the groups in the American Urological Association Symptom Index score (mean difference 0.04 points, 95 percent confidence interval -0.93 to 1.01), maximal urinary flow rate, prostate size, post void residual volume, quality of life, or PSA. Side effects occurred at similar rates in both groups.1
The CAMUS trial (2011)
The follow up question was obvious: maybe 320 mg was simply not enough. CAMUS, published in JAMA, tested that directly. Researchers enrolled 369 men aged 45 and older at 11 North American sites and raised the dose at week 24 and again at week 48: 320 mg, then 640 mg, then 960 mg per day of an ethanolic saw palmetto extract standardized to 85 to 95 percent fatty acids, against placebo, over 72 weeks. Symptom scores improved in both arms, which is what placebo controlled trials of urinary symptoms usually show. But the group mean difference in symptom score change was 0.79 points favoring placebo. Tripling the dose did not help.2 A companion analysis of the same men found that PSA changes on saw palmetto did not differ from placebo, even at the higher doses.12
The latest Cochrane review (2023)
The most recent systematic synthesis pooled 27 studies covering 4,656 participants. Its conclusion on saw palmetto by itself: "Serenoa repens alone provides little to no benefits for men with LUTS due to benign prostatic enlargement." The reviewers rated the evidence for urologic symptoms and quality of life at short term follow up as high certainty, which in Cochrane language means further research is very unlikely to change the conclusion. They also tested whether the extraction method mattered and could not detect a difference between hexanic and non hexanic extracts.3
Where the official bodies land. The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health states that saw palmetto "is probably not helpful" for urinary symptoms from an enlarged prostate, noting that two NIH funded trials, one at the standard dose and one at up to three times higher, both failed to improve symptoms.4 The American Urological Association guideline on lower urinary tract symptoms attributed to BPH likewise does not issue a positive recommendation for saw palmetto or other phytotherapies, citing variable results and variable study quality.5
So why is it still everywhere?
Three honest reasons. Some smaller and older trials, several funded by extract manufacturers, did report symptom improvement, and those are the ones supplement marketing quotes. Saw palmetto also has a genuinely good safety record, which lowers the perceived cost of trying it. And urinary symptoms fluctuate on their own and respond strongly to placebo, so many men feel better on it whether or not the compound is doing anything.
Extract versus powder: the difference that decides everything
In 2023, researchers led by Bilal Chughtai tested 28 commercial saw palmetto products sold in the United States, including berry powders, powdered extracts, berry blends, lipid extracts and multi ingredient formulas. They measured total fatty acid content by gas chromatography and compared it to the US Pharmacopeia monograph threshold of at least 80 percent total fatty acids for a lipidosterolic extract.
The spread was enormous: total fatty acid content ranged from 0.796 percent in a berry powder product to 89.923 percent in a lipid extract. Not a single berry powder or powdered extract met the 80 percent threshold. Among true lipid extracts, 6 of 9 did, along with one multi ingredient product.6
Saw palmetto berries vs extract: how the amounts compare
An extract is concentrated from the dried fruit, so milligrams of extract and milligrams of berry are not the same unit. The European Medicines Agency monograph lists the hexane extract at a drug to extract ratio of 7 to 11 to 1: it takes 7 to 11 parts of dried fruit to make 1 part of extract.9 Every trial in this article used extract, and none of them tested a berry powder dose in grams. If your bottle lists only "saw palmetto berry" in milligrams, you cannot compare it to the 320 mg research dose.
Format matters too. A 2013 analysis in Nutrients tested 20 saw palmetto supplements and found liquid fill softgels contained by far the most total fatty acids at an average of 908.5 mg per gram, while alcohol based tinctures averaged just 46.3 mg per gram. Powders came in at 179.6 mg per gram and dried berries at 126.4 mg per gram.7 This is the specific reason dropper style liquid formulas deserve scrutiny: the word "liquid" on a bottle can mean a concentrated oil in a softgel or a dilute alcohol tincture, and those two things are roughly twenty fold apart.
| Format | What it is | How it compares to trial material |
|---|---|---|
| Lipidosterolic extract (softgel) | Concentrated oil, standardized to 80 to 95 percent fatty acids | This is what the trials used. Look for 320 mg per day and a stated standardization percentage. |
| Powdered extract (capsule) | Extract dried onto a carrier | None met the 80 percent USP benchmark in the 2023 analysis. |
| Berry powder (capsule) | Milled whole dried berry | Lowest fatty acid content measured, as low as 0.8 percent. Not comparable to trial material at any dose. |
| Tincture or dropper liquid | Alcohol or glycerin extraction, sold by the drop | Averaged 46.3 mg total fatty acids per gram in the 2013 analysis. Rarely states extract milligrams per serving. |
Why "Proprietary Blend" legally hides the dose
Here is the regulation that explains most of the confusion. Under the FDA's dietary supplement labeling rule at 21 CFR 101.36, a manufacturer may group several ingredients under the heading "Proprietary Blend" (or a brand name for the blend), declare only the total weight of the whole blend, and list the ingredients underneath in descending order of predominance by weight. The individual amount of each ingredient does not have to appear anywhere on the label.8
The practical consequence: a bottle advertising a "1,200 mg Prostate Complex" containing saw palmetto, pumpkin seed, nettle root, lycopene and zinc might contain 320 mg of saw palmetto extract, or it might contain 15 mg. Both are legal, both look identical on the panel, and only the descending order tells you anything, and only relative to the other ingredients. Blends are not automatically dishonest, but a blend plus no standardization statement plus no stated extract amount means you have no way to compare that product to a single published trial.
This is exactly the problem with sea based and dropper formulas that market a long ingredient list without milligram amounts. A liquid tincture that lists saw palmetto next to kelp and other seaweeds, with no milligram amount for any of them, gives you nothing to compare against the 320 mg benchmark. Our label reading guide shows what any label does and does not let you verify.
If the 320 mg a day used in the trials is what you want, look for a single-ingredient saw palmetto extract that prints 320 mg on the label. The label check below shows how to spot one in a minute. Keep in mind that those trials found little to no benefit over placebo.
ProtoFlow is a different kind of product: a 14-ingredient formula with 84.5 mg of saw palmetto per day, about a quarter of the trial dose, plus herbs sold for male vitality such as epimedium, damiana and tribulus. Its maker says it "supports the normal functions of the bladder, prostate and reproductive system".
Our review lays out that math, the full label, the pros and cons and the refund terms, so you can decide whether that mix fits what you are looking for.
How to read a saw palmetto label in 60 seconds
- Find the word "extract." If the panel says "saw palmetto berry" or "saw palmetto powder" with no extract designation, it is milled fruit, not trial material.
- Look for a standardization statement. Something like "standardized to 85 to 95 percent total fatty acids" or a reference to the USP monograph. No percentage means no way to judge potency.
- Check the milligrams per daily serving, not per capsule. One 160 mg softgel a day is half the research dose. Taken twice a day, it is 320 mg. Do the multiplication.
- Refuse to guess on proprietary blends. If saw palmetto sits inside a blend with only a total weight, treat the dose as unknown.
- Prefer third party verification. USP Verified, NSF Contents Certified or ConsumerLab testing means an outside lab confirmed what is in the bottle.
- Ignore the marketing math. "Equivalent to 5,000 mg of fresh berries" is a herb equivalency claim, not an extract dose, and it tells you nothing about fatty acid content.
How many saw palmetto capsules per day?
The capsule count depends on how many milligrams of extract each capsule holds, so the answer is on the Supplement Facts panel. The two schedules in the European Medicines Agency monograph show the math:9
- Capsule with 160 mg of extract: 1 capsule, 2 times a day = 320 mg.
- Capsule with 320 mg of extract: 1 capsule, once a day = 320 mg. The CAMUS trial used 320 mg capsules this way.2
- Capsule with berry powder or a proprietary blend: the count tells you nothing, because the extract amount is unknown.
Three real labels, checked against the 320 mg trial dose
To see how the checklist works on actual bottles, we pulled three saw palmetto labels sold in the United States from the Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD), run by the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements.13 We chose one of each type: a standardized extract, a berry product and a multi ingredient prostate formula. We did not buy or lab test these products. The numbers below are only what each label declares, as listed in the DSLD on September 27, 2026, checked against the dose CAMUS started with: 320 mg a day of extract standardized to 85 to 95 percent fatty acids.2 Labels change, so always read the bottle in your hand.
| Product | What the label declares | Standardized extract? | Per day at label directions | Matches the studies? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NOW Saw Palmetto Extract 320 mg, 90 veggie softgels (DSLD label 245847) | Saw palmetto berry extract standardized to 85 to 95 percent fatty acids, 320 mg per softgel, plus 80 mg of cold pressed pumpkin seed oil. Directions: 1 softgel daily with a meal. | Yes. Fatty acid range stated. | 320 mg of extract, which is 272 to 304 mg of fatty acids at the stated range. | Yes on amount and standardization. The label states the same dose and fatty acid range as the CAMUS extract. The pumpkin seed oil was not part of the trial material, and a label is a declaration, not a lab result. |
| Nature's Way Saw Palmetto Berries 585 mg, 180 vegan capsules (DSLD label 328056) | Saw palmetto (berry), 585 mg per capsule. No extract is named. Directions: 1 capsule three times daily, preferably with food. | No. Fatty acid content not stated on the label. | 1,755 mg of berry (585 mg, 3 times a day). | Not comparable. The 1,755 mg is a weight of berry, not of extract, and no trial in this article tested berry material. In the 2023 analysis of 28 US products, no berry powder reached the USP benchmark of 80 percent fatty acids.6 |
| Solaray Prostate Blend SP-16, 100 VegCaps (DSLD label 326102) | "Proprietary Blend," 1,000 mg per 2 VegCaps, of saw palmetto (berry), pumpkin (seed), cornsilk, parsley, ginger, nettle (root), kelp and burdock (root). No amount for any single herb. Directions: 2 VegCaps three times daily. | Not stated on the label. Fatty acid content not stated on the label. | 3,000 mg of the eight herb blend. Saw palmetto amount not stated on the label. | Cannot be checked. Saw palmetto is listed first, which under 21 CFR 101.36 means it is the largest ingredient by weight in the blend, but the label does not say how many milligrams it is or whether it is an extract.8 |
Only the first label gives you the numbers to compare with a published trial. That does not make the other two dishonest: their labels are legal, they simply leave out the figures you would need for the comparison. And matching the trial dose only means matching the dose that, in STEP and CAMUS, did no better than placebo.1,2
When saw palmetto makes sense, and when it does not
It may be reasonable if you have mild symptoms, a clinician has already ruled out anything serious, you understand the evidence is weak, you buy a properly standardized extract at 320 mg per day, and you set a stopping point such as twelve weeks to judge whether anything changed. The safety data is genuinely reassuring: NCCIH describes saw palmetto as well tolerated with documented safe use for up to three years and mild, infrequent side effects, and CAMUS found no significant differences in adverse events versus placebo at up to 960 mg per day over 72 weeks.4,2
It is a poor idea if you are using it instead of getting evaluated. Urinary symptoms in men over 45, such as a weak urine stream or getting up several times a night to urinate, can come from benign prostatic hyperplasia, but also from infection, bladder dysfunction, medication side effects, diabetes or prostate cancer, and no supplement distinguishes between those. Our guide to enlarged prostate symptoms lists the red flags that need a doctor this week, or today. The simplest first step is to bring the actual bottle, or a photo of the Supplement Facts panel, to your next appointment. If you are comparing options, our guide to natural alternatives to Flomax grades each one by the evidence.
Frequently asked questions
How much saw palmetto should I take for prostate?
Clinical trials used 320 mg a day of a standardized lipidosterolic extract of Serenoa repens berries, taken once daily or as 160 mg twice daily. The European Medicines Agency monograph lists the same dose, so it is the number to compare a label against. At this dose, the two largest US government funded trials found no benefit over placebo.
Is 1000 mg of saw palmetto too much?
It is above the highest dose tested in a large trial. In the CAMUS trial (JAMA, 2011), men took up to 960 mg a day of extract for 72 weeks, and adverse events were no more common than on placebo. No trial has tested safety above 960 mg. Higher doses also did not ease symptoms more than placebo.
How many saw palmetto capsules should I take per day?
It depends on the milligrams of extract per capsule, shown on the Supplement Facts panel. A 160 mg extract capsule taken twice a day gives 320 mg, the trial dose. A 320 mg extract capsule is taken once a day. With berry powder or a proprietary blend, counting capsules cannot tell you how close you are to that dose.
Saw palmetto berries vs extract: which one matches the studies?
The extract matches the studies, not ground berry powder. Trials used a lipidosterolic extract standardized to 85 to 95 percent fatty acids. In a 2023 analysis of 28 products, no berry powder or powdered extract reached the US Pharmacopeia benchmark of 80 percent fatty acids, while 6 of 9 lipid extracts did.
Do liquid saw palmetto drops deliver the clinical dose?
Alcohol based drops are the format least likely to deliver it. The 2013 Nutrients analysis found tinctures averaged just 46.3 mg of total fatty acids per gram, against 908.5 mg per gram in liquid fill softgels. Many dropper products also never state an extract amount, so there is no way to match them to the 320 mg trial dose.
Why do supplement labels hide the saw palmetto dose?
Because FDA rules at 21 CFR 101.36 let a manufacturer group ingredients into a "Proprietary Blend" and declare only its total weight. Ingredients are listed in descending order by weight, but the amount of each is not required. That is legal, so a blend labeled 1,200 mg could contain 20 mg of saw palmetto or 320 mg.
Does saw palmetto actually work for an enlarged prostate?
The best available evidence says it provides little or no benefit on its own. The 2023 Cochrane review pooled 27 studies covering 4,656 men and concluded that Serenoa repens alone provides little to no benefit for urinary symptoms due to benign prostatic enlargement, with high certainty evidence. NCCIH states that saw palmetto is probably not helpful for this purpose.
Does saw palmetto affect PSA test results?
No, saw palmetto does not appear to affect PSA readings. A 2013 CAMUS analysis in the Journal of Urology found PSA changes on 320, 640 and 960 mg a day did not differ from placebo, and NCCIH agrees. Prescription 5 alpha reductase inhibitors do lower PSA, so tell your doctor about every supplement.
Is saw palmetto safe to take long term?
Research supports safe use for up to 3 years, according to NCCIH, with mild and infrequent side effects such as digestive symptoms, dizziness and headache. CAMUS found no more adverse events than placebo at up to 960 mg daily over 72 weeks. The NIH LiverTox database notes rare liver injury reports, with an uncertain link, that resolved after stopping.
Sources
- Bent S, Kane C, Shinohara K, et al. Saw palmetto for benign prostatic hyperplasia. New England Journal of Medicine. 2006;354(6):557-566. https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa053085
- Barry MJ, Meleth S, Lee JY, et al. Effect of increasing doses of saw palmetto extract on lower urinary tract symptoms: a randomized trial. JAMA. 2011;306(12):1344-1351. https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/1104439. Abstract on PubMed: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/21954478/. Full text on PMC: https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3326341/
- Franco JVA, Trivisonno LF, Sgarbossa NJ, et al. Serenoa repens for the treatment of lower urinary tract symptoms due to benign prostatic enlargement: an updated Cochrane review. World Journal of Men's Health. 2024;42(3):518-530. https://doi.org/10.5534/wjmh.230222
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NIH). Saw Palmetto: Usefulness and Safety. https://www.nccih.nih.gov/health/saw-palmetto
- American Urological Association. Management of Lower Urinary Tract Symptoms Attributed to Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia: AUA Guideline. https://www.auanet.org/guidelines-and-quality/guidelines/benign-prostatic-hyperplasia-(bph)-guideline
- Chughtai B, et al. Variability of commercial saw palmetto-based supplements for the treatment of benign prostatic hyperplasia. JU Open Plus. 2023;1(8). https://journals.lww.com/juop/fulltext/2023/08000/variability_of_commercial_saw_palmetto_based.1.aspx
- Penugonda K, Lindshield BL. Fatty acid and phytosterol content of commercial saw palmetto supplements. Nutrients. 2013;5(9):3617-3633. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3798925/
- US Food and Drug Administration. 21 CFR 101.36, Nutrition labeling of dietary supplements. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations. https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-B/part-101/subpart-C/section-101.36
- European Medicines Agency, Committee on Herbal Medicinal Products. European Union herbal monograph on Serenoa repens (W. Bartram) Small, fructus. EMA/HMPC/280079/2013, final, November 24, 2015. Sections 4.2 (posology) and 4.5 (interactions). https://www.ema.europa.eu/en/documents/herbal-monograph/final-european-union-herbal-monograph-serenoa-repens-w-bartram-small-fructus_en.pdf
- Avins AL, Lee JY, Meyers CM, Barry MJ; CAMUS Study Group. Safety and toxicity of saw palmetto in the CAMUS trial. Journal of Urology. 2013;189(4):1415-1420. doi:10.1016/j.juro.2012.10.002. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23063633/. Full text on PMC: https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3716255/
- National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIH). Saw Palmetto. In: LiverTox: Clinical and Research Information on Drug-Induced Liver Injury. Updated April 2, 2020. Sections "Hepatotoxicity" and "Outcome and Management." https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK548378/
- Andriole GL, McCullum-Hill C, Sandhu GS, Crawford ED, Barry MJ, Cantor A; CAMUS Study Group. The effect of increasing doses of saw palmetto fruit extract on serum prostate specific antigen: analysis of the CAMUS randomized trial. Journal of Urology. 2013;189(2):486-492. doi:10.1016/j.juro.2012.09.037. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23253958/
- National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD). Supplement Facts panels for NOW Saw Palmetto Extract 320 mg (label 245847), Nature's Way Saw Palmetto Berries 585 mg (label 328056) and Solaray Prostate Blend SP-16 (label 326102). Accessed September 27, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Labels: https://dsld.od.nih.gov/label/245847, https://dsld.od.nih.gov/label/328056, https://dsld.od.nih.gov/label/326102